RSS Feed

Day 13 – Sharm to Luxor

Posted on

Bright, early, and in anticipation, we are on our way to the Sharm airport for a quick hop over to Luxor. Unfortunately, when we got there we found that, since the revolution, all flights from Sharm to Luxor had been cancelled.  We have had these paid tickets for months and none of us had received any notice about this.  Plus, they wanted us to pay for a new flight to Cairo and then arrange a flight from there to Luxor!

Ay-yi-yi,  the shit shed down on Sharm that morning. Luckily for me, I was assigned by my Buds to watch the baggage while they went to have a chat with the airline manager.  I heard later that Noelle “went off” on him; and I have seen Alexei in his righteous indignation before, so I know that the manager was getting the “what for” done to him!  In addition, apparently we were not the only unhappy campers.  There were two other women whose flight had been cancelled and they were letting him have it too!

The last call was sounding overhead when the manager, Alexei and Noelle returned to me.  We scurried onto the flight at the very last minute.   Guess what? We did not have to pay extra. 

When we got to Cairo, we went to the ticket agent and Alexei explained our situation.  Our bags were set aside and Alexei was sent to speak to someone. When he returned, we were sent to our flight and, once again, we did not have to pay anything more than we had already paid.

Whew!

Okay, now I don’t know how you, dear reader, would have handled all of this, but, it sent me down a little rabbit hole in my mind.  I remember how Lee, my deceased husband, could get righteously angry and make things happen.  I remember how much I loved watching Dixie Carter’s character, Julia Sugarbaker, on “Designing Women” give someone those eloquent dress downs on TV. My friends, Carolyn and Frank, don’t allow people to take advantage of them. All of these people stand up to what they perceive as “wrongs” being done to them and they say, “No! This is unacceptable!”

I have a hard time doing that for myself!  I have a hard time making a scene, getting righteously angry or exploding and demanding things be done differently.  Am I just a wimp?  I know I have done this for my siblings and for my patients in the past. I don’t think I have done it for myself very much; and, I don’t think I have been doing this for my patients very much recently either.  I used to be such an aggressive then assertive patient advocate, but, recently, I have changed.  If you have read my book you know this. I have been trusting that whatever is best is what is happening. I have been rolling with the punches, going with the flow and trusting Love. I have asked for guidance and watched for when I should say a word or take an action that would promote the highest good. But, as I watched the effectiveness of a good melt down and righteous anger, I wondered if I should start being more like that again. I really didn’t know.  So, I asked Noelle about it. 

“When you go off on someone It seems very effective in getting what you want.  How do you feel about it afterward? Do you feel successful?”

“No, I feel like shit.  I don’t like getting that worked up and losing it.  I regret it and feel bad about myself for days.”

Well, dang, I didn’t expect that answer.

I still don’t know for sure. When I got back from this Mid East trip I found I had a $1200 phone bill from Verizon for data usage on my cell phone. I called and told them I had followed all of their instructions about turning off the “roaming” and shouldn’t have this charge. They told me I had not been charged at all when I had used the Wi-FY in the Mid East, rather, all of the charges were from my overnight layovers in Amsterdam, where the rules were different.

Okay, Linda, do you get righteous and yell at this girl on the phone? Do you insist on speaking to her supervisor and yell at her? Do you ask for guidance from Love and trust the highest good and that whatever is best is what will happen? Make a choice, dude, cuz now is the time!

I chose Love and said, “I followed the pre trip instructions to the letter and it is unacceptable for you to charge me.” I didn’t yell, instead, I thanked the girl for her help.  She took it upon herself to help as much as could be done.  In the end, I had to pay $600 dollars and I am grateful I had the money to pay it. But, part of me still wonders if I wimped out. I bet Alexei would have had no charges by the time he was done.

 Also, I do notice that, lately, I have become more assertive again in my patient care.  But, it is not from my righteous ego thinking that I know what is best; rather, I am still choosing Love and the highest good. I do my best to advocate all that I can.  If I find it is not working then I let go and trust Love to know the bigger picture and that whatever is best will happen.

Okay, whatever; back to the trip! 

We made it to our hotel in Luxor where Noelle took a quick look at the bathroom and sighed.  Yeah, it was a li’l ‘un again. But what a great location we were in! The Nile, the Luxor Temple, and the Avenue of Sphynxes were right outside!

 

 

Luxor is the site of the ancient city of Thebes, the great capital of Egypt during the New Kingdom era and the “glorious” city of the god Amon-Ra. Its importance started as early as the 11th Dynasty (2000’s BC) and it grew into a thriving city, renowned for its high social status, luxury, wisdom, art, religious, and political importance.  During the time of the 18th dynasty (1500’s BC) through the 20th Dynasty (1000’s BC), the city had become the major political, religious and military capital of Egypt. This time period is called the New Kingdom of the Egyptian Empire. Among other things it is the time period of Moses and the pharaohs;  of Queen Hatshepsut (Alexei’s favorite) who is considered to be one of the most successful pharaohs and who reigned longer than any other woman of an indigenous dynasty; Amenhotep III who was pharaoh when Egypt was at the peak of her artistic and international power; Akhenaten who refused the traditional Egyptian polytheism and practiced monotheistic worship of a one true god named Aten; the well known King Tutankhamun; and Ramses III second pharaoh in the 20th dynasty who is considered to be the last great New Kingdom king to wield any substantial authority over Egypt.  His reign is believed to have been from 1186 to 1155 BC.  Trying to date dynasties is still somewhat controversial, so I am giving you only the approximate dates.

 Despite the decline of political and military importance and moving the capital of Egypt to other cities, Thebes remained the religious capital of Egypt. The main god of the city was Amon, who was worshipped along with his wife the goddess Mut, and their son Khonsu, the god of the moon. As Thebes had risen to importance through the years, so did their god. He became linked to the sun god Ra, becoming the new “king of gods” and was called Amon-Ra. His temple at Karnak just north of Thebes was the most important temple of Egyptian antiquity. Thebes remained a site of spirituality and attracted numerous Christian monks in the Roman Empire who established monasteries amidst several ancient monuments including the temple of Hatshepsut.

There are lots and lots of temples, tombs, and ruins to see here and I know we will not be able to get to all of them on this visit.  On this first day, though, our hotel is just a block away from the Temple of Luxor and so off we go to see it.

The earliest parts of the Temple still standing are the chapels built by Hatshepsut. The main part of the temple was built by Amenhotep III with a later addition by Ramses II. There are also some chapels built by Tuthmosis III and Alexander the Great. During the Roman era, the temple was a legionary fortress and the home of the Roman government in that area.

If Alexei or Noelle will read this blog, maybe, they can identify some pictures!

 

 

 

This Obelisk is one of two built by Ramses II. The other one was given, in exchange for a clock that doesn’t work, to King Louis V and stands in the Concorde Square in Paris.

 

 

Alexei tried to teach me a lot of things, but honestly, my brain couldn’t hold them.  I was amazed at his level of information including his ability to read hieroglyphics.

 

 

 

 This mosque was built on top of the temple when it was buried under 20’ of sand.

 

 This is the court of Amenhotep III.

 This is toward the back of the Temple.

 I was enjoying seeing all of this, but, my favorite times were these:

 

 

Sorry for the blurriness. 

I also loved the temple at night.

 

(Picture by Noelle Meluskey)

The blue of the night reminded me so much of the blue water at the Blue Hole in Dahab.  At a certain point, they were the exact same color. As above, so below.

The Avenue of the Sphynxes looks cool in this shot too. This avenue  originally went from Luxor Temple to Karnak.

 

(picture by Noelle Meluskey)

It was a wonderful first time introduction to the ancients of Egypt, however, in my mind there was a little more going on. When we first began to walk toward the temple, I could hear a woman talking to me in my mind. Her voice came from across the Nile and was centered at Hatshepsut’s Temple.

“I need you to come here to see me.”

“I am coming tomorrow. What is happening with you?”

“I don’t know what the wise thing is to do. I have been staying here for thousands of years, waiting for the time I will rise again.  I am wondering if this is a mistake.”

Suddenly, I could hear a male’s voice coming from Luxor Temple.

“Do not give up.  We have waited this long, we can wait longer.  Our time will come again. We are from the Gods, we will return.”

The woman said, “What for?  We are irrelevant now and have been for some time. Whether I am here or not doesn’t matter. These people come to see our buildings and to learn about us, but, we do not factor in their lives anymore. I don’t want to be nothing. I am feeling like it is a mistake to stay here longer.”

I can see she is becoming a little distraught. “What do you want?”

“I don’t want to be stuck and that is how I feel.  I am a woman of action. I have been doing nothing for so long now.  I am thinking my beliefs have been wrong.  I want to move on.”

The man yelled, “If you give up on the Gods you will be nothing!”

I asked her, “What do you say to that?”

“Perhaps it is true, but, what I am experiencing now is “nothing”.  I don’t want to let fear of the unknown keep me stuck here. It is possible that if I take the chance and leave I may have an opportunity to create a new me, a new self.  I don’t know, but I have seen your mind and the things you have been doing with people; I want to you to help me move on.”

She’s seen my mind?? Hmm, okay, that’s a first, but it’s cool.

“Can you let go of your beliefs and perceptions and open yourself to another way of perceiving?”

“Yes, I am ready.”

It was easy to take her through a brief visualization and statement of intent to see things in a different way. She was soooo ready.  As I watched, she just let go, became a light and zoomed off into light. I heard her voice on the wind, saying, “Thank you.”

Well dang, Linda, you’re doing it again. You know there’s a lot of old spirits who have intended to hang around here, you gonna be talking to all of them? Nope, just the ones who talk to me first.

I am on vacation.

About imlindai

I have been and RN since 1975 and in Critical Care since 1981. I have written two books, both available on Amazon.com, Barnes&Noble.com and through bookstores: 1. Where Do You Draw The Line? - An Insider's Guide to Effective Living Wills, Healing, Critical Care. 2. I May Be Crazy, But It's All Good Please visit my website: www.lindaingalls.com

3 responses »

  1. love wow love thank you and god bless

    Reply
    • Hi Roy, Welcome to my blog and thanks for that comment. I read your blog about love today. I left you a comment. I look forward to reading more of your posts. I added you as a friend in fb too. Love, Linda

      Reply
  2. I received the following comment via email:

    From Carolyn:

    I so enjoyed seeing all the old temples & relics from Luxor. It was so overwhelming at the time we were there to just imagine how it was back then. Still is!
    No one spoke to me tho – maybe I should be glad about that.

    I feel the same way Noelle said after “righting a wrong” – it really takes a lot out of you & leaves you with very mixed feelings – exhausting at times & wondering if it is worth the added stress, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do sometimes, right or wrong.
    Thanks once again for the memories!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

